2022: 20 Years of Sing Out for Freedom

Sing Out for Freedom 2022 Sizzle Reel

For 20 years, Sing Out for Freedom (formerly known as Broadway Stands Up for Freedom) has brought together New York’s performing arts and civil liberties communities to celebrate the work of the NYCLU and ACLU. The concert has grown steadily since its inception in 2002, when aspiring musical theater performers and high school student activists Liana Stampur, Erich Bergen, and Dana Steingold gathered to sing and raise money for the NYCLU. Today, Sing Out for Freedom is a key source of support for our civil rights and liberties mission.

With Erich as Executive Producer, this year’s event showcases two decades of progress made by the NYCLU and ACLU thanks to our amazing staff, partners, and supporters like you. We are thrilled to honor Padma Lakshmi and Patti Smith for their dedicated contributions to social justice advocacy. This year we also celebrate NYCLU Artist Ambassador co-chair and musical theatre composer Shaina Taub with the NYCLU’s annual Michael Friedman Freedom Award, named for the late composer and Sing Out contributor.

Padma Lakshmi standing on stage at podium

Padma Lakshmi


Shaina Taub on stage at podium

Shaina Taub

Michael Friedman Freedom Award Recipient

Patti Smith on stage speaking in microphone

Patti Smith


Watch “Man in the Mirror” From Sing Out For Freedom


Busy Philipps & Sarah Jones


Padma Lakshmi
Patti Smith
Shaina Taub (Michael Friedman Freedom Award Recipient)

2022 Performers

Adam Hyndman, Alex Edelmen, Ari Conte, Ashley De La Rosa, Ato Blankson-Wood, Brandon Michael Nase, Cindy Tsai, Desmond Child, Jess McLeod, Kayla Davion, Kyle Freeman, Liana Stampur, Malachi Mabson, Maybe Burke, Michael Kushner, November Christine, Patti Smith, Roy Wood Jr., Shaina Taub, Shoshana Bean, Siedah Garrett, Sing Harlem, Somah Haaland, Tomás Matos, Treya Lam

And Performances By The Cast of:

1776, A Strange Loop, Moulin Rouge

Thank You To Our Sponsors:

Richard Feldman

Marianne & Steven Mills
Iris Smith
Kaily Smith Westbrook & Adam Westbrook

Barbara Whitman
Claudia Salomon

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP and Affiliates
United Food and Commercial Workers
Richenthal Foundation

Broadway Cares, Equity Fights Aids
Latham & Watkins LLP
Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein Attorneys at Law
Shirley and Al Evenitsky Fund for Social Justice

Kramer Levin
Outten & Golden LLP
Frankfurt Kurnit Klein + Selz
Schulte Roth & Zabel
Alera Group
1199 Seiu United Healthcare Workers East
Christopher Street Financial
Hard Rock Hotel New York
Corsair Capital Management, L.P.

Host Committee:
Edwin J. Lopez-Soto & Patricia A. Braus
Julie Kowitz Margolies & Alex Margolies
Kevin Finnegan & Mrinal Vikram
The Lambert Family

As bold as the spirit of New York, we are the NYCLU.
© 2024 New York
Civil Liberties Union