Regional Office

Phone: 716-852-4033

About Us

The NYCLU Western Regional Office serves the following counties: Allegheny, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Niagara, Genesee, Orleans and Wyoming.

Our mission is to defend and promote the fundamental principles and values embodied in the Bill of Rights, the U.S. Constitution and the New York State Constitution. 

Anyone interested in learning more about us is encouraged to call us at (716) 852-4033 or e-mail us at for information. Members of the media can call (716) 332-4658.


The Erie County Civil Liberties Committee (ECCL) was formed in 1934 and affiliated with the national American Civil Liberties Union.

Around 1951, the organization changed its name to the Niagara Frontier Branch of the ACLU. That same year, the New York Civil Liberties Union was established in New York City.

In 1963, an Upstate New York Division (UNYD) was created consisting of the Niagara Frontier Branch (re-designated as the Niagara Frontier Office), the Genesee Valley Office in Rochester, and the Central New York Office covering Syracuse and Ithaca. During this era, the UNYD shared staff and an office with the Niagara Frontier Office.

In 1965, the UNYD merged with the New York Civil Liberties Union to form a statewide organization and the UNYD was abolished.

From 1965 until 1980, the Niagara Frontier Office was affiliated with both the national American Civil Liberties Union and the New York Civil Liberties Union.

In April 1982 the Niagara Frontier Office of the American Civil Liberties Union decertified, with Western New York being more properly represented by the “Buffalo Office” of the NYCLU (1982-86), and finally, in 1987, as the Western Regional Office of the New York Civil Liberties Union.