Back to All Press Release

Statement on Implementation of Discriminatory Travel Ban

Statue of Liberty
The Supreme Court allowed the third version of President Trump’s Muslim travel ban to go into effect Monday evening while legal challenges continue. The ban restricts travel to the United States from six predominantly-Muslim countries, Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, and Chad, as well as North Korea and some groups of people from Venezuela. The American Civil Liberties Union and partner organizations are challenging Trump’s current Muslim ban in court.
The following statement is attributable to New York Civil Liberties Union Executive Director, Donna Lieberman:
“It is deeply disappointing that the Supreme Court has ruled that people traveling to our country to reunite with family, to work, to study or to visit will be barred while the courts review this discriminatory ban. But this is not a ruling on the ban’s legality. The American Civil Liberties Union will be at the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals on Friday to argue that the Muslim ban should be struck down.
“Too many New Yorkers know too well the human toll of turning away refugees and dividing families. We will continue to oppose the Trump regime’s discriminatory anti-immigrant policies and fight for our first principles of religious freedom and equality.”


As bold as the spirit of New York, we are the NYCLU.
© 2024 New York
Civil Liberties Union